little poems · Uncategorized

You said, I Believed.

You drew those lines.

You built those fences.

You told me its my country.

You told me what lay on the other side was the enemy.

I believed.

Those mountains and rivers, you divided.

Those skies and winds, you labelled.

Those forests, you said were now theirs.

Those playing fields, you said were now war zones.

I believed.

I stood with the gun upon my shoulders

on those rocky mountains now my home.

You sat in your plush seats with your loved ones.

You said its war.

I believed.

I shot many a sons, the mothers grieved.

I shot lovers, the lovers grieved.

I shot humans, families grieved.

But it was the enemies you said…

I believed.


image courtesy

Leave a Reply

